IJAsia16 has ended

Welcome, everyone, to Uncovering Asia: The Second Asian Investigative Journalism Conference. From September 23 to 25, we are bringing together top investigative reporters, data journalists, and media law and security experts from across Asia and around the world.

Below you will find more than 60 sessions and special events. There are panels on digging out hidden facts online, the environment, business, and how to fund your project; seminars on security and tracking dirty money; data journalism workshops by the best in the business; and much more.

You can follow us on Twitter at #IJAsia16. On behalf of your hosts — the Global Investigative Journalism Network, Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, and the Centre for Investigative Journalism, Nepal, we wish you a big hello! Namaste!

avatar for Steven Gan

Steven Gan

Co-founder and Editor-in-Chief
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Steven Gan is a co-founder and editor-in-chief of independent online news website, Malaysiakini. He began his career as a Hong Kong-based freelancer and covered the Gulf War from Baghdad in 1991. He returned to Malaysia in 1994, becoming special issues editor and columnist for the then newly launched Sun newspaper, where he helped reveal the deaths of 59 inmates in the Semenyih immigration detention camp. When his editors refused to run the story, Gan released his findings to a human rights activist, who was subsequently charged with spreading “false news,” a crime in Malaysia. When Gan reported on protests during the 1996 Asia Pacific Conference on East Timor, he was arrested and jailed for five days. Amnesty International named Gan a prisoner of conscience. When his newspaper refused to publish his last reports from the conference, Gan resigned and became an editorial writer for The Nation newspaper in Bangkok. Since going live in November 1999, Malaysiakini has become one of the top news websites in the country. Malaysiakini received the Free Media Pioneer 2001 award from the International Press Institute, and Gan was a recipient of the Committee to Protect Journalists’ International Press Freedom Award 2000.